twitter Facebook Facebook

Subscriber Login here

In tune. Informed. Indispensable.

Record of the Day Awards for Music Journalism and PR 2008

The full list of 2008 Record of The Day Award winners is as follows:

Live Reviews: writer of the year
Winner: Kitty Empire – The Observer

Best PR campaign for a breakthrough UK Act
Winner: Tony Linkin at Coalition PR for Glasvegas

Best PR campaign for an established UK Act
Winner: Lewis Jamieson at Hall or Nothing PR for Elbow

Record Reviews Writer of the Year
Winner: Alexis Petridis – The Guardian

Best Music Coverage in a Newspaper
Winner: The Guardian

Business and Technology Writer of the Year
Winner: Ben Cardew – Music Week

Best PR campaign for an established non-UK Act
Winner: James Hopkins at Columbia Records for Kings of Leon

Best PR Campaign for a Breakthrough Non-UK Act
Winner: Ash Collins at Toast PR for MGMT

Best Podcast:
Winner: Guardian Music Weekly

Best Editor
Winner: Caspar Llewellyn Smith – Observer Music Monthly

Best Independent PR Company
Winner: Dog Day Press

Best Independent PR individual
Winner: Nathan Beazer at Dog Day Press

Best Digital Publication

Best in-house PR person
Winner: Andy Prevezer at Warner Bros Records

Best In-House PR department
Winner: Polydor Records

Artist and Music Features: Writer of The Year
Winner: Simon Cosyns and Jacqui Swift – The Sun, Something for the Weekend

Breaking Music Writer
Winner: Paul Lester

Magazine of the Year
Winner: Word

Best Blog
Winner: 20 Jazz Funk Greats

Best Online PR:
Winner: Scruffy Bird

Outstanding contribution to music journalism:
Jon Savage

Outstanding contribution to PR:
Barbara Charone – MBC PR

Outstanding contribution to music photography:
Pennie Smith 

device: pc